Wescom, Langford Win

OSF Heritage Run 10K


By Gerrie Gustafson


In the 22 years of the Heritage Run, weíve experienced every kind of weather from sunny and hot to cold and rainy.  This yearís race, held Sunday, April 23, saw bright sun and reasonable temperatures, but the wind on Madison Street made its annual appearance.


In spite of the wind, Klint Wescom, 30, currently of Grayslake, ran away from the field in the 10 kilometer race finishing in 34:09.  For his accomplishment, Klint won $250 in cash and a handsome overall winnerís jacket. Mike Egle, 44 of Glenview, was second and the first masterís winner with a time of 36:11 taking away a check for $200.  The next finishers were Justin Schroeder, 29, in 36:32 ($100) and Brian Fruechtenicht, 31, in 37:29 ($50). 


Five-time 10k Heritage Run winner, Jessica Langford, finished as the first woman and seventh overall for her sixth win in 38:20.  Jessica also won the first Heritage Run two-mile race in 1985.  She won the $250 cash prize and the overall winnerís jacket.


Finishing as the second woman was Jennifer Kuhn, 34, from Rolling Meadows in a time of 42:54 ($100).  Behind her was Terri Watson, 48, of Roscoe finishing as the first female master finisher with a time of 43:54 ($200). Deanna Menzies, 31, Roscoe, finished next in 44:35 ($50). 


Thirteen runners finished in under 40 minutes, quite an accomplishment in a day that warmed up as the race went along with a headwind as runners ran north on Madison.  Congratulations to all the finishers who traveled from as far away as Janesville, East Peoria, Madison, Wauwatosa, Mendota, Chicago and its suburbs. 


The Teunissen brothers battled it out for the win in the two-mile race with Tony, 29, from Belvidere, edging out Eric in 9:50.  Eric, 25 from Sheboygan, finished  in 5:00 and perennial two-mile competitor and eight-time winner, Andrew Hepburn, 42,of Roscoe, was close behind in 5:08. 


The first female and ninth overall was Alexandria Palm, 14, of Winnebago, finishing in 12:17.  Meghan Bradley, 14, followed in 13:09.  Once again the Wildcats made a strong showing with eight youngsters 14 and under finishing in the top 25, in times under 14 minutes. 


Proceeds from this yearís Heritage Run will go to Big Brothers Big Sisters.  Thanks to our major sponsors, OSF Saint Anthony Medical Center and OSF HealthPlans, and BlueCross BlueShield, Rubloff Development Group Inc., East Rockford Collision Center, Suby Von Haden &  Associates, UPS, Stillman Valley Bank, Cream City Scale and ASC.  Also thanks to the staff of the YMCA, Big Brothers Big Sisters and OSF Saint Anthony Medical Center for all their help in organizing and staffing the event, and Heritage Run committee members Margie Hennig, Maureen McGrain,  Lynne Istad, Cindy Hall, Bob Sharp, Marla Wilson, Lorri Garnhart, Wayne Hansen, and Christy Eldridge. Media sponsors were WREX-TV and 97ZOK. 


Of course the race couldnít happen without the vital assistance of members of the Rockford Road Runners who assembled and staffed the finish line as well as handled numerous other duties.  A special thank you, too, to Dave Hallman of Rock Valley Culligan, who for the past several years is there race day morning to help wherever needed.


Our apologies to those who came early to pre-register.  Because of some confusion with Stewart Square, we were unable to get to our supplies in a timely manner.  Also, pre-registration was handled by another individual this year which made for some confusion in age groupings.  Please remember to always put your age down as of race day along with your birthdate.  Leaving one or the other off tends to confuse the person entering the data. 


The 23rd Annual OSF Heritage Run is scheduled for Sunday, April 22, 2007.